Finding Quality Content Without the Sales Edge

blog

It’s nice to see more companies adding sections to their websites that offer helpful tips and tools instead of just trying to sell you something. It makes sense actually. The more you succeed in growing your business overall, the likely you’ll be around to buy what they have to offer. It’s all about the value add.

A nice example I came across recently was Thrive Powered by ADP℠. When I think of ADP, I think of payroll services. Yet, I didn’t find anything on the site trying to sell me this. Instead, I found really helpful tips and insights on most every other aspect of running my business.  There was even a section on new business opportunities.

The menu offered six topics to choose from: operations, sales and marketing, protecting your business, managing people, maximizing profits and business strategies. As a nut for marketing, I wasn’t too interested in the sales and marketing option because I read up on these topics most every day. My first choice, therefore, was to learn what Protecting Your Business was all about.

The first article I came across was Suing Small Businesses: Recent Trends to Watch. Not wanting to be sued for any reason any time, I clicked on this title and the opening sentence read, “Every year, more than 100 million lawsuits are filed in U.S. courts.” YIKES! That was something I didn’t know. The piece went on to introduce further interesting data that I was unaware of but am glad to know now.

The next menu option I checked out was Managing People. Here the first article was, Firing Employees vs. Laying Them Off: Making the Difficult Decisions. This piece was all about the pros and cons of choosing to fire someone or laying them off. There was also information about having to lay off workers. I found particularly useful the section about financial repercussions whenever someone leaves your team.

A quick scan of a couple other menu options revealed similar articles on topics that I found interesting and where I learned something new. Finding great, valuable content without a sales angle like this can definitely be a challenge these days. I’ll be bookmarking this site for sure for future reference. You may want to check it out as well. In less than 5 minutes, I came away with three new ideas for how to run my business.

Leave a Reply

